RheoMan: a five-year, ERC-funded (Advanced Grant), project to model the rheology of the Earth's mantle

Nov 1, 2014 Dana Medal of the MSA to P. Cordier General

The Dana Medal committee and the Mineralogical Society of America (MSA) have chosen Patrick Cordier as the 2016 Dana Medalist.

The Dana medal ceremony will be at the December 2015 AGU meeting in San Fransisco

The Dana Medal is intended to recognize sustained outstanding scientific contributions through original research in the mineralogical sciences by an individual in the midst of his or her career who has not been previously recognized as a recipient of the MSA Award. For the purpose of this award, the mineralogical sciences are defined in the broadest sense.

 Dana Medal

The Mineralogical Society of America Dana Medal was established in 1998 and named in 2000 in honor of the legendary contributions by James Dwight Dana (1813-1895) and Edward Salisbury Dana (1849-1935) to the science of mineralogy.

E. S. Dana was Honorary MSA President from 1926-1935. A complete bibliography in pdf format of J. D. Dana from the biography by Gilmore is on MSA's Collector's Corner


Recipients of the MSA Dana Medal

  • 2001 George Rossman
  • 2002 Michael F. Hochella, Jr.
  • 2003 Mark S. Ghiorso
  • 2004 R. James Kirkpatrick
  • 2005 William D. Carlson
  • 2006 Rodney C. Ewing
  • 2007 Frank S. Spear
  • 2008 Thomas Armbruster
  • 2009 Ronald E. Cohen
  • 2010 Jillian F. Banfield
  • 2011 Ross John Angel
  • 2012 Roberta L. Rudnick
  • 2013 Max W. Schmidt
  • 2014 Patricia M. Dove
  • 2015 Marc M. Hirschmann
  • 2016 Patrick Cordier