Français - English
Unité Matériaux et Transformations empty space

Unité Matériaux et Transformations
CNRS UMR 8207 - Université de Lille

UMET - High pressure lab

Diamond anvil cell

Contacts:

Research teams involved:

Lab phone:

  • +33 320 43 44 73

Diamond-anvil cells

Cellule diamant

Diamond anvil cells are useful tools to generate pressures and temperatures comparable to those of the Earth's interior. The sample is compressed between two gem-quality diamond anvils and we carry out in situ diffraction or spectroscopic measurements at extreme pressure-temperature conditions.

Several different types of the diamond-anvil cells are available in the high pressure lab, allowing in-situ experiments to pressures above 1Mbar.

Multi-anvil press

The new press at beamline ID06 of ESRF (Grenoble, France). Photo : Wilson Crichton.

The Mineral Physics team has long been involved in multi-anvil press experiments. They are run in dedicated centers, such as LMV in Clermont-Ferrand, BGI in Bayreuth, Germany, and MPI in Stony Brook, USA and/or at synchrotron beamlines at APS, NSLS and ESRF.

The multi-anvil press allows us to reproduce pressure (P) and temperature (T) conditions down to 600km depth in Earth (typically 20 GPa and 1800°C) on millimeter size samples. One can use the Kawaii module, a two stage assembly in which the heater and sample are placed within an octahedron compressed between 8 tungsten carbide anvils, or the DIA module, a one stage assembly in which the cubic setup is compressed between 6 anvils. Since 2003, the Deformation-DIA (D-DIA), for which the top and bottom anvils can be moved independently, allows deformation experiments to be performed under upper mantle P-T conditions. In order to allow in-situ x-ray measurements, one or more tungsten carbide anvils is replaced by sintered diamond or cubic boron nitride, which are particularly hard and x-ray transparent.

 
Kawaï ModuleDIA Module, schematic courtesy Mickael VaughanOlivine samples radiography while deforming at mantle P and T

Sample preparation

Samples in diamond cell experiments are small. Thus, we use a dedicated sample preparation room that includes, among others, a Leica MZ16 binocular and a Minitools microdrill. We are able to prepare and work with sample whose size do not exceed 100 microns.

Microperceuse  Binoculaire

Fluorescence and Raman spesctroscopy

Système de fluorescence

The lab includes a small spectrometer used for fluorescence and Raman spectroscopy.

Ruby is used to calibrate pressure as the position of its fluorescence line evolves with pressure and is well calibrated.

Raman spectroscopy can be used to probe structural and vibrational properties. It is a useful tool for the study of phase transitions under pressure.

Laser heating

Ca chauffe à l'ESRF!

Samples can be heated to temperatures of several thousands of degrees by focusing high power lasers on the sample (10 to 100W, infra-red). This technique is used to activate phase transitions with slow kinetics, relax stresses in samples, and reproduce deep Earth conditions.

At the moment, we do not have such a system, but we have easy access to those available at the IMPMC in Paris or the European Synchrotron Radiation Facility in Grenoble.

X-ray diffraction

L'ESRF à Grenoble

Most of our research work uses x-ray diffraction.

We use intense x-ray sources in large facilities such as the European Synchrotron Radiation Facility in Grenoble or the Advanced Photon Source at the Argonne National Laboratory in the USA to study the physical properties of our samples. Using the results of x-ray diffraction synchrtron experiments, we can extract information on the structure and plastic properties of our sample.

In-situ x-ray diffraction multi-anvil experiments are mostly performed at X17-B2 at the National Synchroton Light Source (Upton, NY, USA), with the support of COMPRES. We are also involved with the setup of a new device on beamline ID09 at ESRF, a first in Europe! In those experiments, deformation of the sample is measured using X-ray tomography while stress is measured using x-ray diffraction by quantifying the elastic deformation induced by the compression.

Synchrotron experiments are performed according to fixed schedule fixed by the synchrotron administrations. At the moment, we run 5 to 10 campaigns per year.

 
UMET - Unité Matériaux et Transformations
CNRS UMR 8207
Université de Lille
Bâtiment C6
59655 Villeneuve d'Ascq
France
Mentions Légales - Contacter le webmaster

Français - English
Unité Matériaux et Transformations empty space

Unité Matériaux et Transformations
CNRS UMR 8207 - Université de Lille

UMET - Laboratoire hautes pressions

Cellule diamant

Contacts :

Groupes impliqués :

Labo :

  • 03 20 43 44 73

Cellules diamant

Cellule diamant

La cellule à enclumes de diamant est un instrument fondamental pour l'étude expérimentale des matériaux du manteau et du noyau terrestre. L'échantillon est comprimé entre deux diamants présentant une surface plane d'un diamètre variant de 10 à 700 μm. Les propriétés de l'échantillon sont alors étudiées par diffraction ou spectroscopie.

Le laboratoire dispose de plusieurs cellules, permettant une expérimentation in-situ à des pressions supérieures au mégabar.

Presse multi-enclumes

La nouvelle presse de la ligne ID06 de l’ESRF (Grenoble, France). Photo : Wilson Crichton.

L’équipe Physique des Minéraux est aussi impliquée de longue date dans la réalisation d’expériences en presse multi-enclumes. Cette activité reste cependant externalisée dans les centres dédiés (e.g., LMV, Clermont-Ferrand ; BGI, Bayreuth, Allemagne ; MPI, Stony Brook, USA) et/ou sur lignes de lumière synchrotron (e.g., APS, IL, et NSLS, NY, USA ; ESRF, France).

La presse multi-enclumes permet de reproduire les conditions de pression (P) et température (T) prévalant jusqu’à plus de 600 km de profondeur dans la Terre (typiquement 20 GPa et 1800°C) sur des échantillons de taille millimétrique. On distingue le module Kawaï, à deux étages, dans lequel l’assemblage - milieu de confinement, four, thermocouple et échantillon placés dans un octaèdre - est comprimé entre 8 enclumes cubiques en carbure de Tungstène (WC), du module DIA, à un étage, où l’assemblage cubique est comprimé entre 6 enclumes de WC. Depuis 2003, le Deformation-DIA (D-DIA), dont les deux enclumes verticales sont montées sur vérins indépendants, permet de déformer les échantillons dans les conditions P-T du manteau supérieur terrestre. Pour les mesures in situ réalisées sur lignes synchrotron, une ou plusieurs enclumes de WC sont remplacées par des enclumes en diamant fritté ou nitrure de Bore cubique (cBN), matériaux très durs et relativement transparents aux rayons X.

 
Module KawaïModule DIA, schéma Mickael VaughanRadiographie d'échantillons d'olivine en cours de déformation aux conditions du manteau

Salle de préparation

Les échantillons utilisés en cellule diamant étant de petite taille, nous disposons d'une salle de préparation appropriée comprenant, entre autres, une binoculaire Leica MZ16, et une microperceuse Minitools. Nous pouvons ainsi préparer des échantillons dont la taille ne dépasse pas la centaine de microns.

Microperceuse  Binoculaire

Fluorescence et spesctroscopie Raman

Système de fluorescence

Le laboratoire dispose d'une spectromètre 'maison' permettant les mesures de fluorescence et, dans une moindre mesure, la spectroscopie Raman.

Le spectre de fluorescence du rubis sert à mesurer la pression à laquelle est soumise l'échantillon. En effet, les rubis dopés avec des ions Cr3+ émettent un spectre dont les raies se décalent avec la pression.

La spectroscopie Raman sonde les vibrations au sein des cristaux, liquides et verres. Les modifications des spectres induites par la pression sont interprétables en termes de changements dans l'agencement des atomes et le mouvements de ces atomes.

Chauffage laser

Ca chauffe à l'ESRF!

Les échantillons peuvent être chauffés jusqu'à des températures de plusieurs milliers de degrés en focalisant sur l'échantillon des lasers de puissance (10 à 100W, infra-rouge). Cette opération permet l'activation de transitions phase à cinétique lente, de relaxer les contraintes au sein des échantillons, et de reproduire les conditions au centre de la Terre.

Le laboratoire ne dispose pas d'un tel système, mais nous utilisons ponctuellement les montages installés à l'IMPMC à Paris ou l'European Synchrotron Radiation Facility à Grenoble.

Caractérisation par diffraction de rayons X

L'ESRF à Grenoble

La plupart de nos expériences reposent sur la diffraction de rayons X.

Nous utilisons des sources intenses disponibles dans les grands instruments tels que l'European Synchrotron Radiation Facility à Grenoble ou le Advanced Photon Source aux Argonne National Laboratory aux États-Unis pour y étudier les propriétés physiques de nos échantillons, telles que leurs structures crystallographiques ou systèmes de glissement...

Pour les expériences en presses multi-enclumes, nos expériences sont en majorité réalisées aujourd’hui sur la ligne X17-B2 de la National Synchroton Light Source (Upton, NY, USA), dans le cadre du consortium COMPRES. Elles sont également en cours d’installation sur la ligne ID09 de l’ESRF, une première en Europe ! Lors des expériences « en ligne », la déformation des échantillons est mesurée par radiographie X, tandis que la contrainte appliquée est mesurée en diffraction X par la quantification de la déformation élastique des matériaux contraints.

Les expériences sur synchrotron se déroulent sur des périodes allant de deux à cinq jours. Nous réalisons ainsi une dixaine de campagnes de mesures par an.

 
UMET - Unité Matériaux et Transformations
CNRS UMR 8207
Université de Lille
Bâtiment C6
59655 Villeneuve d'Ascq
France
Mentions Légales - Contacter le webmaster